Join our Telegram community

IIFT MBA Admission CAT Score: How the 2027-29 Route Works

MBA One Stop editorial team · Updated 6 November 2026 · 5 min read

In short
  • IIFT does not run its own MBA entrance test for 2027-29. It shortlists on your CAT 2026 score and other defined parameters, then holds a group discussion and a personal interview.
  • The IIFT application is separate from CAT and closes on 25 November 2026, four days before CAT on 29 November.
  • Eligibility is a bachelor's degree of at least 3 years with 50 percent (45 percent for SC, ST and PwD). MBA (BA) also needs a maths or statistics background.
  • The brochure publishes no weightage for the stages, so any weights you see quoted are unconfirmed.

The IIFT MBA admission CAT score route is how the 2027-29 batch is filled. IIFT no longer runs its own entrance test. It shortlists on CAT 2026 and other defined parameters, then holds a group discussion and a personal interview. A CAT score alone does not apply for you, though. You must apply to IIFT separately, and that form closes before CAT is held.

As of 6 November 2026 the brochure is out and applications are open until 25 November. This post is a step-by-step for the CAT route, with eligibility, fees, deadlines and a plain note on what is not confirmed, such as the weight of each stage.

What changed: IIFT dropped its own MBA entrance test

Older pages still talk about a separate IIFT entrance test and its old weightages. For the 2027-29 batch, the brochure uses CAT 2026 as the test. The score counts for the 2027-29 batch only.

IIFT is the admitting body and CAT is the test, run by the IIMs. The brochure says the IIMs have no role in IIFT's selection process or in running the programme. So you deal with two organisations: CAT for the score and IIFT for the application.

Programmes and campuses: MBA (IB) and MBA (BA)

ProgrammeIntake as listedApplication fee (general, OBC-NCL, EWS / SC, ST, PwD, transgender)
MBA (IB)720 seats: Delhi 240, Kolkata 240, Kakinada 120, GIFT City 120Rs 3,000 / Rs 1,500
MBA (BA)60 seats at DelhiRs 2,000 / Rs 1,000

The brochure shows a programme fee for MBA (IB) of about Rs 19.73 lakh for the 2026-28 batch, and says the exact 2027-29 amount will be informed later. Hostel and mess are extra. For the 2023-25 MBA (IB) batch, IIFT reported an average package of Rs 31.3 lakh a year and a median of Rs 26 lakh. Check the latest placement report before you decide.

Eligibility: graduation percentage and the BA maths requirement

  • A recognised bachelor's degree of at least 3 years in any discipline, with 50 percent (45 percent for SC, ST and PwD). CA, CS, CMA and FIAI qualifications with the same marks also count.
  • Final-year students can apply. Proof of graduation is due by 31 October 2027.
  • No age limit is stated, and no work-experience requirement is listed.

MBA (BA) adds a requirement: mathematics or statistics at graduation, or a B.Tech or B.E. degree, or mathematics at 10+2, with 50 percent or a CGPA of 5.0 out of 10.

IIFT MBA admission CAT score: why you must apply separately

The sequence matters because the IIFT form closes before the test.

  1. Register for CAT 2026. Registration closed in September, so this step is done or missed.
  2. Complete the IIFT online application and pay the fee by 25 November 2026. This fee is separate from the CAT fee.
  3. Sit CAT on 29 November 2026.
  4. Wait for the CAT result, expected in the first week of January 2027.
  5. If shortlisted, attend the group discussion and personal interview.
Watch out. If you did not register for CAT 2026, you will have no score for IIFT to shortlist on. The MBA brochure names CAT 2026 as the only test used.

Selection stages: CAT shortlist, GD and PI

IIFT shortlists on the CAT 2026 score and other defined parameters. It then holds a group discussion and a personal interview in physical mode. The listed centres include Delhi, Kolkata, Kakinada, GIFT City, Bangalore, Chennai, Hyderabad, Indore, Lucknow and Mumbai. The brochure does not state shortlist or result dates.

Because these stages are in person and carry weight, prepare them early. The GD and PI prep note covers both.

Why reported stage-two weights differ

You will see different percentages for the group discussion and interview on different pages. The brochure publishes no weightage. Figures quoted online may come from older cycles, when the process was different, or from sources that do not say where the numbers come from. Do not plan around any of them.

What you can plan around is that both stages count and both are physical. On the score itself, our estimate of the CAT percentile for about a 50 percent chance of an interview call at IIFT is around 97.5, for the General category with an average profile. That is an estimate, not a cutoff. The MBA Predictor will give a range from your own CAT score.

Deadlines and what to prepare now

DateWhat happens
25 November 2026IIFT online application and fee close
29 November 2026CAT 2026, in three sessions. Admit cards can be downloaded from 6 to 29 November.
First week of January 2027CAT result, likely
Not statedIIFT shortlist, GD and PI dates
31 October 2027Final-year proof of graduation due

Dates checked on 6 November 2026. This week, finish the form, gather mark sheets and category certificates, and take a timed mock on the free CAT Compass before 29 November. Track all dates on the MBA deadline tracker.

Where the PGDM (IB) differs

IIFT's home page lists a separate PGDM (IB) programme with applications closing on 30 November 2026, the day after CAT. We have not verified its selection route, fee or eligibility. Do not assume it follows the MBA rules above. Read its own page before you apply.

FAQ

Common questions

Does IIFT conduct its own entrance exam for 2027?

No, not for the MBA (IB) and MBA (BA) 2027-29 admission. IIFT shortlists on CAT 2026 and other defined parameters, then holds a group discussion and personal interview. Older pages that mention a separate IIFT test describe earlier cycles. Check the 2027 brochure on IIFT's admission page for the current process.

What CAT percentile is needed for IIFT?

IIFT publishes no cutoff in the brochure. Our estimate for about a 50 percent chance of an interview call is a CAT percentile near 97.5, for the General category with an average profile. That is an estimate, not a rule. Enter your own score in the MBA Predictor for a personalised range.

Is there a GD in IIFT selection?

Yes. After the CAT-based shortlist, IIFT holds a group discussion and a personal interview in physical mode, at centres including Delhi, Kolkata, Kakinada and GIFT City. The brochure publishes no weightage for these stages, so prepare for both seriously instead of relying on a weight quoted online.

What is the IIFT application deadline?

The online application and fee close on 25 November 2026, four days before CAT on 29 November. The fee for MBA (IB) is Rs 3,000, or Rs 1,500 for SC, ST, PwD and transgender candidates. MBA (BA) is Rs 2,000 or Rs 1,000. Check IIFT's site for any change.

Can I apply to IIFT without CAT?

For the MBA programmes, the brochure names CAT 2026 as the test used, so you would have no score to be shortlisted on, and CAT 2026 registration closed in September. A separate PGDM (IB) programme closes on 30 November 2026, but we have not verified its route, so read its own page.

Keep going

More to read

See which colleges fit you

Predict my colleges →