Join our Telegram community

Executive MBA Fees in India: What the Headline Number Hides

MBA One Stop editorial team · Updated 6 November 2026 · 6 min read

In short
  • In the programmes checked, headline fees run from about Rs 1.6 lakh for online MBAs to Rs 18 lakh for IIM Mumbai's weekend MBA-PGPM.
  • Instalment plans cost more than paying in full in most cases, by about 3% to 12.5%. One IIM Mumbai programme lists the same fee on every plan.
  • Exam fees per subject or per attempt, GST, deposits and campus travel and stay often sit outside the headline.
  • Campus modules are the biggest unlisted cost: IIT Jodhpur has two immersions of 5 to 7 days, and Great Lakes has 47 campus days.
  • Ask for a written fee sheet and note its date. Fees change by intake.

Executive MBA fees in India run from about Rs 1.6 lakh for an online MBA to Rs 18 lakh for IIM Mumbai's weekend MBA-PGPM, but the headline number is rarely the full cost. Instalment premiums, exam fees, taxes, deposits and campus travel and stay can add to it. IIM Mumbai's and IIT Jodhpur's executive MBAs need two or more years of work experience.

Figures below are as listed on each programme's page on 3 November 2026, and on 2 November for IIM Mumbai. Fees change by intake and some offers expire within days, so confirm every figure on the official page before you pay.

Executive MBA fees in India: headline fee versus all-in cost

A headline fee is the number on the programme page. The all-in cost adds the instalment premium, per-subject and per-attempt exam fees, taxes, deposits and campus travel and stay. Two programmes with the same headline can differ by lakhs once those are counted.

IIM Mumbai's programmes also list other fees, from Rs 6 lakh for the PGPEx in Entrepreneurship and Innovation Management to Rs 21 lakh for the full-time MBA (Creative Industries). The IMAT page has the list.

Instalment plans: the premium you pay

ProgrammePay in full or cheapest plan (Rs lakh)Costliest listed plan (Rs lakh)Extra
NMIMS CDOE MBA (Online)1.962.20 (4 x 0.55)0.24 (12.2%)
NMIMS CDOE Working Executive4.004.50 (staged)0.50 (12.5%)
Great Lakes PGXPM13.40 (Plan I)14.23 (Plan III)0.83 (6.2%)
Amity Online MBA2.072.25 (per semester)0.18 (8.7%)
IIM Mumbai MBA-PGPM18 (annual plan)19 (module-wise)1.00 (5.6%)
IIM Mumbai MBA-ePGPM14.515 (module-wise)0.50 (3.4%)
IIM Mumbai PGPEx-EIM66.25 (two instalments)0.25 (4.2%)

Whether a premium is worth paying depends on what your own money earns or costs you. A plan can also cost nothing extra: IIM Mumbai's MBA (Creative Industries) lists Rs 21 lakh in full, in 2 instalments or in 4, after a Rs 1 lakh seat booking. Ask for the total under each plan.

Per-subject and per-attempt exam fees

  • NMIMS CDOE's online MBA charges Rs 800 per subject per attempt, plus Rs 800 per project attempt. For 10 subjects, one attempt is Rs 8,000.
  • NMIMS CDOE's Working Executive MBA charges Rs 2,500 per re-exam subject. Five re-exams would be Rs 12,500.
  • JAIN's online MBA lists Rs 3,000 a year for exams, and Amrita's Rs 2,750 per semester.
  • LPU's list fee includes Rs 2,000 per semester for exams.

Pages do not always state the number of subjects. Ask for the count, the fee per attempt and what a re-attempt costs.

Taxes, alumni fees, deposits

  • IIM Mumbai's fees include taxes. Its application fee of Rs 3,000 is extra, and a refundable caution deposit applies (Rs 50,000 for the MBA-PGPM).
  • Great Lakes' Plan I includes study material, the alumni fee and taxes.
  • SRM's online MBA lists GST on top of Rs 1.89 lakh, about Rs 0.34 lakh at 18% (not confirmed), which would make about Rs 2.23 lakh.
  • LPU's online MBA lists Rs 2 lakh and a 20% grant valid until 7 November 2026, which makes it about Rs 1.62 lakh, plus a Rs 1,000 registration fee.

Travel and stay for campus modules

IIT Jodhpur's Executive MBA has two campus immersions of 5 to 7 days each, with accommodation and food extra. Great Lakes' PGXPM has 47 days on campus over 7 modules, with boarding and lodging extra. BITS Pilani WILP's fee excludes exam travel and campus stay. NMIMS CDOE's Working Executive page does not state travel and stay.

Tip. Estimate it as campus days times stay and food per day, plus travel for each visit. Ask the admissions office what the last batch actually spent.

Programme table: what the headline fee leaves out

ProgrammeHeadline (Rs lakh)Not in that figure, as stated
IIT Jodhpur Executive MBA9.15 over two yearsRs 999 test fee; two campus immersions; accommodation and food
Great Lakes PGXPM13.4 (Plan I)Boarding and lodging in residencies; optional international immersion
BITS Pilani WILP MBA3.124 (1,500 + 18,500 + 4 x 73,100)Exam travel and campus stay
NMIMS CDOE MBA (Online)1.96Admission processing Rs 1,200; exam and project fees Rs 800 each per attempt
NMIMS CDOE Working Executive4.00Application Rs 1,500; re-exam Rs 2,500 per subject; campus travel and stay not stated
JAIN Online MBA1.685 (1.60 + 2,500 + 3,000 x 2)Other specialisations range from 1.60 to 2.98 lakh
Amrita Online MBA1.877 (1,76,000 + 700 + 2,750 x 4)Some specialisations cost more
SRM Online MBA1.89GST; optional career service track
CHRIST MBA (Executive)6.8 (6.6 for Karnataka)2026 brochure figures; no 2027 table found
IIM Mumbai Executive MBA (Wealth Management)15 (1 + 7 + 7), taxes includedRs 3,000 application fee; a refundable caution deposit

Loans, employer sponsorship and tax

The ROI calculator models a loan with a standard reducing-balance EMI, and adds the interest to the cost. It counts salary given up only for full-time programmes, so a weekend or online programme is judged on fee plus interest.

If your employer sponsors the fee, ask HR in writing what share it pays, when, and whether a service bond or repayment applies if you leave. Whether any part of a fee earns a tax benefit depends on your own situation, so ask a tax adviser and do not assume it.

Questions to ask for a written fee sheet

  1. What is the total under each payment plan, including all taxes?
  2. What is paid at booking, and is it refundable?
  3. How many subjects are examined, and what does each attempt and re-attempt cost?
  4. Are study material, alumni, project and caution fees included?
  5. What do campus modules cost in travel, stay and food, based on the last batch?
  6. What is the date of this fee sheet, and is it for my intake?
FAQ

Common questions

How much does an executive MBA cost?

In the programmes checked, headline fees run from about Rs 1.6 lakh for online MBAs to Rs 18 lakh for IIM Mumbai's weekend MBA-PGPM. Between them sit BITS Pilani WILP at Rs 3.124 lakh, CHRIST at Rs 6.8 lakh, IIT Jodhpur at Rs 9.15 lakh and Great Lakes' PGXPM at Rs 13.4 lakh. Add extras before comparing.

Is the instalment plan costlier?

Usually yes. Where a pay-in-full price is listed, instalment plans add about 3% to 12.5% in the programmes checked, from Rs 7,000 on Amity's annual plan to Rs 1 lakh on IIM Mumbai's module-wise MBA-PGPM. IIM Mumbai's Creative Industries MBA lists the same fee on every plan, so ask for each total.

Are exam fees included?

It varies. LPU's list fee includes Rs 2,000 per semester for exams. NMIMS CDOE's online MBA charges Rs 800 per subject per attempt on top, and its Working Executive MBA charges Rs 2,500 per re-exam subject. JAIN lists Rs 3,000 a year. Ask for every exam and project fee in writing.

Does the fee include campus stay?

Usually not. IIT Jodhpur lists accommodation and food as extra for its two immersions, Great Lakes lists boarding and lodging as extra for its campus residencies, and BITS Pilani WILP's fee excludes exam travel and campus stay. NMIMS CDOE's Working Executive page does not state it, so ask.

Which executive MBA is cheapest?

By headline fee the online MBAs are cheapest, from about Rs 1.6 lakh, and most ask for no work experience. Among programmes that ask for experience, BITS Pilani WILP is Rs 3.124 lakh and NMIMS CDOE's Working Executive MBA Rs 4 lakh. Cheapest is not best, so compare recognition, format, extras and the credential.

Keep going

More to read

See which colleges fit you

Predict my colleges →