GMAT Focus: dates, pattern, fee and eligibility
GMAT Focus is on Candidate-chosen appointment, up to 7 days a week. The test is 135 minutes with about 64 questions.
Key dates
From the exam body’s own pages, checked 6 Nov 2026.
| Registration open | Year-round; no fixed registration window (appointments bookable up to 6 months ahead) source ↗ |
|---|---|
| Registration close | No fixed deadline source ↗ |
| Exam date | Candidate-chosen appointment, up to 7 days a week source ↗ |
| Result | Candidate sees the score before choosing which schools receive it (5 free score sends); official-report timing not stated source ↗ |
Pattern, marking and eligibility
| Conducted by | Graduate Management Admission Council (GMAC) source ↗ Page is GMAC's own site; exam is administered by GMAC with delivery at test centres or online. |
|---|---|
| Mode | Computer-adaptive; at a test centre (US$275) or online at home (US$300) source ↗ |
| Sections | Quantitative Reasoning · 21 · 45 Verbal Reasoning · 23 · 45 Data Insights · 20 · 45 source ↗ |
| Total questions | 64 source ↗ |
| Total time (minutes) | 135 source ↗ 3 x 45 minutes. |
| Marking | Scoring: Computer-adaptive; Total Score 205-805 source ↗ GMAC pages describe adaptive scoring, not a per-question marks scheme; any 'negative marking' claim is therefore not stated. |
| Score validity | 5 years source ↗ |
| Attempts | Up to 5 attempts in a rolling 12-month period; GMAC removed the older 8-attempt lifetime cap (GMAC page dated October 24, 2024) source ↗ |
| Accepted by | GMAC states acceptance by 7,700+ programmes at 2,400+ business schools worldwide (2023 flyer); Indian schools set their own GMAT policies (2023 flyer) source ↗ |
What the exam body has not published
We leave these out rather than guess. Check the official site for updates.
- Eligibility: GMAC pages opened state no minimum graduation % or work-experience rule; each business school sets its own requirement.
- Application fee rupees: GMAC's page gives USD only (no INR, no GST treatment). An INR figure was not found on an official page I could open.
GMAT Focus Edition replaced the classic GMAT; official mba.com HTML is Incapsula-blocked, so gmac.com pages and an mba.com PDF were used. INR fee and the 16-day retake wait were not confirmed.
GMAT Focus: common questions
When is GMAT Focus?
Candidate-chosen appointment, up to 7 days a week. Result: Candidate sees the score before choosing which schools receive it (5 free score sends); official-report timing not stated.
What is the GMAT Focus exam pattern?
Quantitative Reasoning (45 min), 21 questions; Verbal Reasoning (45 min), 23 questions; Data Insights (45 min), 20 questions.
What is the GMAT Focus application fee?
The fee is not stated on the pages we could verify; check the official site.
Who can apply for GMAT Focus?
GMAC pages opened state no minimum graduation % or work-experience rule; each business school sets its own requirement.